Any person selling or making home improvements must have a contractor license if any work he or she performs is worth more than $1,000.
Nevada laws allow homeowners to act as their own general contractor for altering, improvements of primary residence although they are not licensed by the state of Nevada.
According to the law, you should not make down payments more than 10% of the contract price or $1,000; whichever is less.
Licenses are issued by the Nevada Contractors Board
Nevada state contractor board provides Contractor License Search service to enable consumer to verify the details of the contractor prior to hiring.